Edward J. McPherson, MD
UCLA Medical Center, Santa Monica · Santa Monica, CA 90404-1249
AAHKS member
- Fellowship
- Adult reconstruction — Kerlan-Jobe Orthopaedic Clinic 1
- In practice
- not yet documented
- 2024 Medicare
- 42 joint replacements 2
- Medicare
- not reported
- AAHKS
- Member — directory-listed as of 2026-08-18
1 uclahealth.org · 2026-08-23 2 CMS claims — a lower bound
What this record establishes
The authenticated AAHKS directory lists this surgeon as a member, and CMS published hip or knee replacement services under this surgeon's NPI.
What still needs verification: years in practice, board certification and current all-payer annual volume. An unmet criterion is never a finding against a surgeon: CMS publishes only the Medicare half of a practice, and a credential nobody has documented is unknown, not absent.
How each fact was established
Joint-replacement fellowship — source not yet found
Adult reconstruction fellowship — Kerlan-Jobe Orthopaedic Clinic. The cited page was read and does not state this fellowship. The claim came from a search result, and a source that states it has not been found yet.
Snippet: completed a Fellowship in Total Joint Arthroplasty and Adult Reconstruction at Kerlan-Jobe Orthopaedic Clinic (1991-1992); UCLA Health surgeon in Santa Monica.
Review the fellowship source ↗
Years in practice
Years in independent practice have not been resolved from a reviewed source.
Joint replacement volume
42 primary hip and knee replacements were published under this NPI in 2024 Original Medicare fee-for-service claims (13 hip, 29 knee). That is a lower bound: cash and commercially insured cases are published nowhere, for anyone. Below 100, the file proves nothing about total volume, because the rest of a practice is not in it.
Current Medicare participation: not determined
CMS published Original Medicare joint-replacement services for this surgeon in 2024, but historical claims do not prove current participation.
AAHKS membership
Listed in the authenticated AAHKS member directory as Fellow Member.
Board certification
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery certification is not covered by the retained dataset and has not been checked.
Is this your record?
A surgeon may correct their own page. Sign in as a physician, confirm the NPI on this record, and verify with a code texted to your cell phone. You can then correct the practice, fellowship and start-year fields, or ask for the page to come down. Corrections appear here as stated by you, beside what the public sources show.
Report an error in this record
Anyone may report an error: a patient, a practice, a colleague, or the surgeon. A person reads every report and checks it against a source before anything on the page changes. You can also write to privacy@sherlockhealth.ai.
This is a documented record, not a rating or a recommendation. It carries no stars, scores, ranks or badges. Every fact names its source and the date it was read; a fact nobody has documented reads “not yet documented,” which is a gap in the record and never a finding about the surgeon. Whether a surgeon is right for you is decided in an examination, by you and them.
Sources
What this record stands on
- CMS Medicare Physician & Other Practitioners by Provider and Service, 2024 ↗
- AAHKS member directory, captured 2026-08-18 ↗
- uclahealth.org (fellowship, read 2026-08-23) ↗
Consolidated dataset generated 2026-08-24; CMS participation data updated July 31, 2026; each read source carries its own date above.